Type 1 Diabetes Legislation
Help EASET1D Fight for Much Needed Legislation!
EASE T1D started a petition in May of 2015 which will encourage Physician’s, PA’s, and Nurses to educate parents on the signs and symptoms of Type 1 Diabetes as well as check blood glucose levels of children/adults who present flu-like symptoms in an effort to prevent a misdiagnosis and save lives. This legislation is modeled after Reegan’s Rule of North Carolina.
Just one day’s delay of a Type 1 Diabetes diagnosis can lead to coma, brain damage and death. We have had two recent deaths in the month of July, 2015. A beautiful 5 year old girl from Utah who was undiagnosed several times resulting in brain damage and a 4-1/2 month hospital stay; she sadly passed away July 11th. You can find her story on Facebook under “Kisses4Kycie.” The other child who passed away was David, a little 4 year old boy from Michigan who passed away 4 days after being misdiagnosed with flu symptoms.
A misdiagnosis happens all the time and something MUST BE DONE! This is why EASE T1D is pushing for legislation similar to Reegan’s Rule of North Carolina. We have already met with Senator Richard Roth and are working with him with the hope of getting this legislation authored.
Reegan’s Rule was started in North Carolina by a mother whose 16 month old baby girl, Reegan Oxendine, passed away from undiagnosed type 1 diabetes. Little Reegan had been misdiagnosed several times over a 3 month period resulting in her death. Reegan’s mom, Darice Oxendine, created legislation which encourages parent education on Type 1 Diabetes during well-child care visits from birth to age 5 years old. This legislation was signed into North Carolina Law on October 20th, 2015 and is the first of its kind. We congratulate the Oxendine family for their perseverance to push this legislation into becoming law and for helping others so that they may not have to feel the pain and anguish when a child passes away.
Advocacy efforts for similar legislation are happening all around the world. This past November, 2015, House Resolution No. 569 passed in Pennsylvania due to the efforts of Debbie Healy and her State Representative, Ryan MacKenzie. The Resolution encourages physicians to educate and discuss the warning signs and symptoms of Type 1 Diabetes with parents or guardians.
It is time our voices are heard…
NO PARENT SHOULD BURY THEIR CHILD!!
No. 569 Session of 2015 – View PDF Document
(A) A pharmacist may dispense or sell a dangerous drug, other than a schedule II controlled substance as defined in section 3719.01 of the Revised Code, without a written or oral prescription from a licensed health professional authorized to prescribe drugs if all of the following conditions are met:
(1) The pharmacy at which the pharmacist works has a record of a prescription for the drug in the name of the patient who is requesting it, but the prescription does not provide for a refill or the time permitted by rules adopted by the state board of pharmacy for providing refills has elapsed.
(2) The pharmacist is unable to obtain authorization to refill the prescription from the health care professional who issued the prescription or another health professional responsible for the patient’s care.
(3) In the exercise of the pharmacist’s professional judgment:
(a) The drug is essential to sustain the life of the patient or continue therapy for a chronic condition of the patient.
(b) Failure to dispense or sell the drug to the patient could result in harm to the health of the patient
(a) Except as provided in division (A)(4)(b) of this section, the amount of the drug that is dispensed or sold under this section does not exceed a seventy-two–hour supply as provided in the prescription.
(i) Subject to division (A)(4)(b)(ii) of this section, if the drug sold or dispensed under this section is not a controlled substance and the patient has been on a consistent drug therapy as demonstrated by records maintained by a pharmacy, the amount of the drug dispensed or sold does not exceed a thirty-day supply as provided in the prescription or, if the standard unit of dispensing for the drug exceeds a thirty-day supply, the amount of the drug dispensed or sold does not exceed the standard unit of dispensing.
(ii) A pharmacist shall not dispense or sell a particular drug to the same patient in an amount described in division (A) (4)(b)(i) of this section more than once in any twelve-month period.
(B) A pharmacist who dispenses or sells a drug under this section shall do all of the following:
(1) For one year after the date of dispensing or sale, maintain a record in accordance with this chapter of the drug dispensed or sold, including the name and address of the patient and the individual receiving the drug, if the individual receiving the drug is not the patient, the amount dispensed or sold, and the original prescription number;
(2) Notify the health professional who issued the prescription described in division (A)(1) of this section or another health professional responsible for the patient’s care not later than seventy-two hours after the drug is sold or dispensed;
(3) If applicable, obtain authorization for additional dispensing from one of the health professionals described in division (B)(2) of this section.
(C) A pharmacist who dispenses or sells a drug under this section may do so once for each prescription described in division (A)(1) of this section.